Lord Krishna Vrindavan Mathura Temples Festivals ISCKON- Information & Activity
NGO's Information Devotional Art Police Helpline Tips to Foreigners Guest Register Excursion Home
Lord Krishna

About Lord Krishna

Appearance Of Lord Krishna
Rasas (Relationships)
Demons Killed by Krishna
The Three Deities

There are five kinds of relationships with Krishna: Santa, Dasya, Sakhya, Vatsalya and Madhurya. Each rasa includes all the qualities of the preceding one, plus a distinguishing quality of its own.

"When the relationship with Krishna increases in affection, the mood of fear and the consciousness of the superiority of the Supreme Lord diminish. Here the fraternal relationship (sakhya) manifests in a sense of equality between Krishna and His friends. When the affection of the fraternal relationship increases, it develops into the paternal relationship (vatsalya) that is found between father and son. In other words, intimate relationships with Krishna develop from an ordinary conception of the Supreme Personality of Godhead (santa rasa); to the conception of master and servant (dasya rasa); and when this becomes confidential, it develops into a friendly relationship (sakhya), and when the relationship further develops, it becomes paternal (vatsalya), and when this develops to the highest point of love and affection it is known as conjugal love (madhurya) with the Supreme Lord." (TLC, chap. 29)

Santa rasa is the neutral attitude of devotees who are in appreciation of the greatness of God, but are not actively engaged in His service. "Srila Bhaktisiddhanta Sarasvati Thakur states that in Brajabhumi; the Yamuna River, the kadamba trees, the cows, Krishna's cowherding stick and flute all belong to the santa rasa (the mellow of neutrality or passive adoration)." (Caitanya Caritamrita Madhya 8.294 purport)

In Dasya rasa there is freedom from all material attachments and doubts, and appreciation of the greatness of God. There is also active service in dasya rasa. This rasa may be mixed with other rasas. Citraka, Patraka and Raktaka are direct servants of Krishna. Those who are constantly engaged in the personal service of the Lord are called anugas, or followers.

In this rasa one feels that Krishna is my friend. The devotees relate with Krishna on equal terms and actually forget that Krishna is superior. The friends in Vrindavana are in such intimate friendship with Krishna that sometimes they think themselves as good as Krishna. "Krishna is their lovable friend, and they cannot forget Him for a moment. All day and all night they think of Krishna. At night when they are sleeping they think, 'Oh, in the morning I shall go and play with Krishna.' and in the morning they go to Krishna's house and stand by while Krishna is decorated by Mother Yasoda before going out with His friends to play in the fields." (SSR)

Twelve important cowherd boy friends of Krishna are: Sridama, Sudama, Arjuna, Subabu, Kusumasava, Mahabala, Subala, Vasudeva, Mahabahu, Lavanga, Stoka Krishna and Dama.

Within Vrindavana, Krishna's friends are generally divided into four groups:
Confidential friends and
Intimate friends.

Krishna's well-wishers are a little older than Krishna, and they have some parental affection for Him. Because of their being older than Krishna, they always try to protect Him from any harm.

Friends who are younger than Krishna, who are always attached to Him and who give Him all kinds of service are called ordinary friends. Ordinary friends are called sakhas.

The more confidential friends are called priya-sakhas and are almost Krishna's age. The behavior of other friends is on the ground of paternal love or servitude, but the basic principle of the confidential friends is simply friendship on an equal level.

Best Western Radha Ashok